Disneyland! – 5/3/2013

One more small post.  I totally went to Disneyland here in Tokyo!  I literally spent all day there and saw many, many shows and went on a few rides.  I got to go with a coworker who used to work for Disney, so I momentarily got swept away in the Disney magic and got to appreciate it like a true Disney fan would.

Crowds of people at 7:30, lining up before the park opens.

Crowds of people at 7:30, lining up before the park opens.

Inside!

Inside!

Star Tours.

Star Tours.

Akbar!

Akbar!

Super Duper Jumping Time!  I had to see this show because of the name.  It was pretty strange, though...

Super Duper Jumping Time! I had to see this show because of the name. It was pretty strange, though…

One of the shows I went to was called Super Duper Jumping Time. It was basically all the costume characters putting on a weird puppet show about cheering up a couple of frogs. It was fun to hear the characters talk in Japanese with goofy voices.

IMG_0229

The first parade.  So many people!

The first parade. So many people!

Electric parade.  This is the Genie from Aladdin.  This was one of the newest floats, and would disappear and sparkle and rainbow-ize and flash and it just blew my mind to bits.

Electric parade. This is the Genie from Aladdin. This was one of the newest floats, and would disappear and sparkle and rainbow-ize and flash and it just blew my mind to bits.

Waiting for Pooh's Honey Hunt.

Waiting for Pooh’s Honey Hunt.

One thing I never appreciated about Disneyland before that my coworker told me is that you’re not supposed to think of the rides as “rides”, but as “attractions”. The goal is to immerse you in the situation, so you feel like you’re in the movie and part of the “magic”. When I attempted to don this attitude, I actually kind of got into it and really enjoyed just being in the park. Even waiting in lines was ok, because of the way the cues were set up to begin immersing you in the story before you get on the “attraction”.

Night castle.

Night castle.

Disney is so wicked popular here, that they have a second Disney theme park next to Disneyland called Disneysea, which is geared more towards adults. I will hopefully get there before my summer is over!

Leave a Reply

